MCSP Department Awards

by minton on April 10, 2014


Many of our best students were honored at the 2013-14 Roanoke College Awards Banquet on April 2. Senior Scholar awards went to TJ Kemper in Computer Science, Jon Marino in Mathematics, and Rachel Andrews in Physics. Maya Shende won the Frank Munley Physics Award, and Connor Sampson the Physics Society Award. Jon Marino won the Julia McBriety Chalfant Mathematics Award and Heather Cook the Herta Freitag Mathematics Award. Sam Parsons and Natalie Wilkinson won the Mathematical Association of America Awards. Maya Shende won the Jane Ingram Computer Science Award, and Thomas Lux and Randall Pittman won the Computer Science Outstanding Achievement Award. MCSP students have a long tradition of winning awards from other departments. This year we have Melissa Eckert as the Outstanding Student in German, Gabe Giersch as Senior Scholar in Health and Human Performance, Paul Relkin winning the Gregory Weiss Sociology Paper Prize, and Jacob Barfield the ACS Student Affiliate Award. Phi Beta Kappa inductees from MCSP are Rachel Andrews and Heather Cook. New inductees into Pi Mu Epsilon are Melissa Eckert, Gabe Giersch, Thomas Lux, Randall Pittman, and Natalie Wilkinson. Sigma Pi Sigma inductees are Rachel Andrews, Maya Shende, and Christopher Valentine. Congratulations to all of our outstanding scholars!

And the hits keep coming! Roanoke College had a strong presence at NCUR 2014, the National Council of Undergraduate Research conference held in Lexington, Kentucky. Maya Shende, Thomas Lux, Randall Pittman, and Heather Cook all presented their work.